Skip to main content


The American building rating system LEED was launched in 1993 as a priority programme of the US Green Building Council (USGBC). It is often preferred by international investors and receives support from a broad platform of players from the construction industry and the public sector.



The LEED evaluation takes into account energy and ecological criteria and aims to standardise the field of sustainable construction. LEED enables building quality to be proved through certificates. So far, administrative buildings and the non-profit sector dominate the market with approximately 75% of all LEED registered projects. There are different rating schemes for different building categories, e.g. large or small-volume residential buildings (new construction/renovation), schools, sales outlets, health facilities, urban development, etc.

The following categories are used as a basis for assessment:

  1. Sustainable Sites
  2. Water Efficiency
  3. Energy and Atmosphere
  4. Materials and Resources
  5. Indoor Environmental Quality
  6. Innovation in Design or Operation
  7. Regional Priority

What are the ratings?

There are four rating levels: Certified, Silver, Gold, Platinum. For LEED certification, the minimum requirements must be met and a certain number of points must be achieved. Of the maximum 110 points, the Certified rating requires 40 points; Silver 50 points; Gold 60 points; and Platinum 80 points.

Reference projects


Hall II Durst Phototechnik AG, Lienz

LEED Silver with 58 points